Yoo Heedo Exclusive Interview

Date

Author

Meet Yoo Heedo, a soloist and member of B.I.G and Team 24:00. Following his recent departure from GH Entertainment, he shares insights on his solo activities and future plans, and reflects on his 9-year career as an idol in this exclusive interview!

Also support Yoo Heedo by following his social media:


Q) Please introduce yourself!

A) Hello ! I am Yoo Heedo, who debuted in 2014 in a boy group called B.I.G, has appeared on several survival shows and recently started activities as a solo artist.
I originally debuted as a rapper within my group, but I have been studying music and dance diligently to be capable of fulfilling all positions, and I plan to showcase a more versatile image as a solo artist.

Q) You recently parted ways with GH Entertainment, could you share your upcoming career plans? What should fans look forward to, and can they expect your continued presence as a member of B.I.G or do you plan to go fully solo? 

A) Even though I’ve been with the company for 10 years, I believe that everything has a beginning and an end. And because there is an end, I think it’s possible to start something new. Therefore I want to take this opportunity to take on the challenge of a solo career, which is something I have been dreaming of for a long time. During my solo activities so far, I’ve released some of my unreleased mixtapes. Using these as my foundation, I aim to create even more impressive and mature music.
As for the future of B.I.G’s team activities, it’s currently unknown to me what the future holds for us. Nothing is set in stone as of now, and I’m simply taking one step at a time towards a brighter tomorrow.

Q) What are the differences between working in a group and independently? What aspects of your solo journey are you looking forward to, or do you think will be challenging?  

A) Even though my first solo fan concert in Hongdae on December 17, 2023, ended successfully, I’m still in the stage of preparing for a regular album and activities, and since it’s all new to me, I’m proceeding cautiously.
Perhaps there’s an advantage in being able to showcase music and stages that suit me better, but there might be a downside in not having someone to share opinions with while preparing for it, don’t you think?

Q) How have your experiences of working in various environments, group lineups and multiple survival shows shaped you? What lessons have you learned from these diverse experiences?  

A) Through experiencing a lot of different scenarios and competitions, I believe I’ve become better at overcoming my fears. So even when facing strong rivals, I’ve learned to not be bothered by it and focus on the stage that I’ve diligently prepared for. Observing many participants on various survival shows, I’ve realized that no matter how big your dreams are or how ambitious you are, if you spend your time worrying and pondering instead of putting in the effort to practice and move forward, nothing will change.

Q) Throughout your 9-year career, what has been your main driving force, and how does that same determination inspire you to try out new things and take on new challenges?  

A) Being able to inspire people through my music and delivering cool performances on big stages is of course part of my dream. But for me, the drive mainly comes from the happiness of myself, my family and my fans. 
Still, I feel greedy for more and I believe I still have a long way to go, so I think that if I rest today, I should run tomorrow. That’s why I keep moving forward every day.

Q) As we near the end of the year, have you achieved all your goals for 2023, or do you have any regrets? What things are on your bucket list for 2024?  

A) Looking back on 2023, it was a truly busy year, filled with a lot of events and emotions. I started off the year with B.I.G performances in January, then wrapped up filming for Peak Time, met many Asian fans at the Peak Time concerts in Korea, Hong Kong, Macau, Taiwan, and Japan, and performed regularly in Japan for about 3 months with B.I.G. Come to think of it, I traveled abroad quite a lot this year.
For fans reading this interview, I’d like to hold concerts and fanmeetings in your areas with the new music and stages that I’ve been preparing. That’s my goal for the new year.

Q) If you could meet yourself as a rookie again, what would you say to him?  

A) What you think you want to do is the right path. Don’t be swayed by criticisms from others. Walk your own path, and you will become a different, even more impressive artist than me, who is speaking these words right now.

Q) What do you think sets you apart from other idols? What is it that makes you Yoo Heedo?  

A) I try to be honest with my fans and show them the real me. Of course, there are many things to be cautious about as an idol, but even so I don’t want to have to wear a big mask because of this and hide my true self.
I don’t want there to be a thick barrier between the fans and me. Especially on stage, I want to be able to fully convey my emotions, and it would be good if we can make each other feel happy.

Q) Can you recall your most memorable moments as an idol? Share a touching experience that stayed with you and a fun incident that still makes you laugh!  

A) The most memorable moment of being an idol for me is standing on stage, in front of a big audience, and looking at all of my fans.
A moment that still makes me laugh and brings me joy is when I was on stage singing, looking into the fans’ eyes and the fanmade posters with my name on them.

Q) You have shown great skills on survival shows, but do you think your survival skills are good enough to survive a zombie apocalypse? How would you survive it?  

A) I actually love zombie movies, and I personally believe that I would be able to survive well during a zombie apocalypse. First thing I would do is get a sturdy-looking vehicle (like an SUV, Jeep) and continue to drive away from the zombie-infested areas to find food. I will keep two of my longtime friends as my companions, and I plan to continuously stay on the move.

Q) What lyrics would you put on your business card?  

A) “10 Years of pride, I’ll keep going to where my compass leads me.” (From his self-written rap in his Peak Time Stray Kids – Back Door stage during the Team 24:00 selection round.)

Q) You gained many new fans after Peak Time, is there anything you want to say to your fans or people who are just learning about you?  

A) Hello, once again this is artist Yoo Heedo, who is always striving to show new and better sides and trying to improve myself. I’m glad I’m able to greet everyone through this interview as I take the first steps into my solo career. I’m sure there are a lot of fans who first met me through interviews and stage videos, but I think my charm shines more when we meet in person, during offline stages, and have conversations with each other. I want to meet all of you, so I’ll be working hard in Korea to be able to meet fans from all over the world. Let’s make a wonderful fresh start together in 2024!

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started